For those of you who don’t know, Chipotle is one of those food places where they make your meal in front of you in an assembly-line type of way, and then you pay for the food at the end of the line.

After you’re done paying for your food, the employee will say something along the lines of:

“Here’s your meal, have a nice day.”

So, I always say:

“You too”.

It’s like an automated response for me, I already know what I’m going to say before I respond. Maybe I’m weird, but that’s just what I do.

I’m not the best at social interactions, sue me.

I usually frequent chipotle once a week, sometimes more. So, I was there one day and they decided to switch it up on me. I paid for my food and the worker goes,

“Enjoy your meal.”

And I say:

“You too.”

I quickly realized what I said, and see the worker staring at me with a smirk on her face. Not knowing what to say, I awkwardly walked away, taking the loss.

Apparently, this jokester of a worker told the other workers about my miscue or something, because the next time I was there, a different worker told me to enjoy my meal and I told her to do the same.

Again, they smirked at me and I awkwardly walked away.

The next time I’m in there, I’m prepared. This time, I’m ready to actually listen to what they say and respond like a real human. I listen to the interaction between the worker and the person in front of me. It’s a worker I’ve never seen before, and they tell the customer to have a nice day. I’m thinking, I got this.

I pay for my food and the person slides me my bag. I prepare to say “you too”, but the worker just stares at me and smiles. I short-circuit and stare for a second, waiting to see if they say anything. They don’t, so I grab my bag, smile, and start walking away.

As I turn my back, the worker says:

“Thanks for choosing Chipotle!”

I blurt out the words:

“Thank you, you too!”

Well played Chipotle, well played.

39 thoughts on ““You Too”

  1. When I worked at a movie theater at concessions we had to say “Enjoy your film!” and so many people would say “Yeah, you too…” And I never realized and I would always just smile and be like “thanks!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha In New Zealand, they would always say “see you” when they’re leaving. One day, after getting a “see ya” from a colleague, I said “ok, where? when?” Ohhh the stare I got as if I’m drunk high on heroin. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

